The below video provides a general introduction to the Bulk user update feature in e-days; there is also a text overview available beneath.


Overview:

  • The Bulk user update feature is a handy tool to perform settings changes in your system. This can be for small, specific groups of users all the way up to every user that exists in the system. The below will give an overview of the various sections of the tool.

Choosing the update:

    

There are various updates that can be performed using the tool:

  • Group: this option allows you to Add & Remove users from groups as well as Swap them from one group to another. Bear in mind when adding users that, depending on your settings, users might only be allowed to belong to one group at a time, so you may need to remove them from the existing group or Swap them from the existing group to the new one. Once you have chosen the type of change you wish to make, you'll then be prompted to select the Group Type and the specific Group that will be the subject of this change.
  • Authoriser: using this update you can either Swap an authoriser or Apply a new authorisation template altogether. Swapping an authoriser will find and replace an Authoriser wherever they appear in the authorisation templates of the users you are updating. If you choose this change you'll be asked to select the authorisers you're swapping users from, and who you're swapping them to. Applying a new authorisation template will simply allow you to input an entirely new template that you'll apply to all the users you're updating. This can either be their default authorisation template that all requests go through, or you can choose specific record types, to set this as an additional authorisation template that will only affect certain requests.
  • User template: this allows you to apply a settings template for all the users you're updating. As users can only ever be applied to one settings template, you'll simply be asked to select the template to apply and the users in the update will begin inheriting the settings from that template.
  • Password reset: usually used when your system first goes live, this option sends out an email to all users in the update with a Subject and Message that you can customise and containing a link for the user to reset their password.
  • Absence booking: you can use this tool to record an absence in bulk for the users in your update. When selecting this change, you'll be asked to set the Absence type of the booking, followed by the dates of the absence, any details you'd like to enter along with it, and whether you want users to receive a notification that the absence has been booked. After you've made this update you'll get notified of any rejections at the bottom of the screen, along with a reason for the rejection. This can be a number of reasons, from a conflict with an existing absence to a lack of entitlement, depending on the reason you may wish to make edits to the rejected users and come back and book the absence for them either individually or in bulk. Please be aware that any absences booked using this tool will be input as individual absences in the absence records page - if you'd like to edit or delete records this will need to be done on an individual basis in this screen.
  • User view: this setting can be used to bulk update who users have access to see in the various areas of e-days. You'll be asked to Select the user view to update - this will either be the Admin area (this setting is only relevant for those who have admin permissions), the Calendar, Staff Records, or the Reports dashboard.
  • You'll then have other options for the view you wish to apply:
    • My Record: The current user only
    • Reportees: The list of people the current user approves. Includes reportees of reportees (if enabled).
    • Everyone: Every active user in your system
    • Custom: People determined from a custom filter
    • Direct Reportees: The list of people the current user approves. It does not include reportees of reportees.

Choosing who to update:

  • The Who would like to update area gives you multiple options for including users in your update, you may wish to go through these step-by-step, missing out any areas that aren't relevant:
  • Specify groups allows you to include users that fall under a certain Country, Location, Team, or any other Group type, in this update.
  • Specify user templates can be used to include all users from the specified settings template in this update.
  • Include reportees and leavers gives you two boxes you can check to ensure user's reportees are included, and any leavers that fall under the view are included
  • You're then able to Specify individuals; you can start typing a user's name to search for them, then click add and they'll be included in the list for this update. You can do this multiple times, and this area allows you to get really specific with the update you're making
  • Finally you can view a list of users who you've included in this update, and, if you'd like, you can click Remove to exclude any specific individuals from the update.
  • Once this is complete all that's left is to do confirm the update by clicking Update users. This can take a short amount of time depending on the update, and you'll receive a confirmation at the top of the screen once the update is complete.

Please find our video tutorial link below:

https://youtu.be/x7D57LW8ECw


Note: You will need the User's permission to access this feature.